Forgot your password?

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

My Page > Articles > Planets Bookmark and Share
  << Previous Article  |  Next Article >>  
Eesha Tariq
Eesha Tariq
Al-noor International School, Bahrain
Published On Nov 6th 2012
Total Comments : 1
Total Views :  639
2 People Like this!


Rank 8 Out of 10
Eight Planets
The IAU has changed the definition of the “planet” so Pluto no longer qualifies. There are now officially eight planets.
PLANET is a Greek word means wandering star. Planet is a body that
Has an orbit around the sun. 2. Is massive enough for its own gravity 3. Has cleared neighbourhood of smaller objects around its orbit.
There are eight planets in the solar system.
Mercury is the inner most planet in the solar system. It is also the smallest planet in the solar system. Though the planet is near the sun, it is very hot. Its atmosphere is about 0.1° Celsius.
Venus is the second planet from the sun. After the moon it is the brightest natural object in the night sky.
Earth is the third planet from the sun. It is the fifth largest planet in the solar system. Sometimes it is called world, the blue planet and by its Greek name, Terra.
Mars is the fourth planet from the sun. It is the second smallest planet. It is also known as the red planet.
Jupiter is the fifth planet from the sun. It is the largest planet in the solar system. It is a giant gas with mass of 1000 that of sun.
Saturn is the sixth planet from the sun and the second largest planet. Saturn has a thick and huge ring around it.
Uranus is the seventh planet from the sun. It has the third largest planetary radius and the third largest planetary mass in the solar system. Uranus is also the first planet discovered by the telescope.
Neptune is the eighth planet from the solar system. It is the fourth largest planet. Its appearance is blue that is why it is named after a roman sea god. Its outer atmosphere is one of the coolest in the solar system.
Pluto is known as a draft planet because of its tiny size. Pluto is not included in the planet because it had not the third characteristics of a planet I have given at the top.
  << Previous Article  |  Next Article >>  

Comments 1
fareeha Cheated Fareeha
Nov 19th 2012

Post your Comment
Stories Drawings Jokes Articles Poems